Learning

 

Religious school & its calendar  (information below)
Bar and bat mitzvah preparation (some information below, more upcoming)
Adult education
Adult bar and bat mitzvah preparation.

IMG_5447

Religious school

Brith Sholom’s religious school provides a Jewish learning experience for children in kindergarten through seventh grade. Kindergarten, first, and second grades meet once a week on Sunday mornings. Grades three through seven have classes on Sunday mornings and Wednesday afternoons. Students are expected to attend Shabbat and holiday services.

For the current school year, Brith Sholom and Bnai Abraham Synagogue in Easton are combining their religious schools. All grades will meet at Bnai Abraham on Sunday mornings. The morning will include a prayer service, Hebrew class, and experiential program. On Wednesday afternoons, Brith Sholom grades three through seven, along with any Bnai Abraham students who wish to attend, will have a class that focuses on prayer book Hebrew. In addition, there will be a short segment that emphasizes spoken Hebrew focusing on words and phrases.

Celebration of bar or bat mitzvah

The celebration of the bar or bat mitzvah is seen as a communal as well as family milestone. Generally, a student will seek a bar or bat mitzvah date and training with Rabbi Michael Singer, which will include learning to chant Torah and Haftarah, lead parts of the prayer service and write a d’var Torah.

Our teachers

religious-school1Rabbi Singer directs the Brith Sholom religious school and teaches in both of the school’s locations.  In addition, we are delighted to have as teachers at Brith Sholom:

Galit Cohen

Very popular among her students in our religious school … Native speaker of Hebrew … Special ed. teacher for the public schools. Married to Ilan, with three children. Travels to Israel every two years. “I wish it was more!” she says with longing.

Reba Marblestone

Ani po,” she says, “I am here,” upon arriving to work with students individually on Hebrew in our religious school … established the Modern Hebrew Language Program at Muhlenberg College, teaching course there at all levels for 20 years … in her first-ever 5k race, came in #1 in her age group. Has two wonderful daughters and five delightful grandchildren.

Roz Cohen

An experienced religious school teacher, the Kindergarten, first and second grade students will enjoy the warm atmosphere of her class.

For family Jewish learning at home: www.babaganewz.com.


Religious school calendar   5777 (2016/17)

Religious School meets on Sundays and Wednesdays K-2 meets Sundays only

Fall/Winter Semester
Wednesday September 7 – 1st Day of Religious School(RS)
Sunday September 11 – 1st Day K-2 (K2) & RS
Wednesday September 14 – RS
September 16 – 18 – Community Shabbaton at Camp Zeke
Wednesday September 21 – RS
Sunday September 25 – RS & K2
Wednesday September 28 – RS (Rosh Hashanah Program open to K-2)
Rosh Hashanah October 2 – 4 – L’Shana Tova!
Wednesday October 5 – RS
Sunday October 9 – RS & K2
Yom Kippur October 11 – 12 – G’mar Hatima Tova!
Sunday October 16 – RS & K2 (Sukkah Decorating Program)
Wednesday October 19 – RS
Sunday October 23 – RS & K2
Wednesday October 26 – RS
Sunday October 30 – RS & K2
Wednesday November 2 – RS
Sunday November 6 – RS & K2
Wednesday November 9 – RS
Sunday November 13 – RS & K2
Wednesday November 16 – RS
Sunday November 20 – RS & K2
Thanksgiving Break November 23 – 27
Wednesday November 30 – RS
Sunday December 4 – RS & K2
Wednesday December 7 – RS
Sunday December 11 – RS & K2
Wednesday December 14 – RS
Sunday December 18 – RS & K2 (Hanukkah Program)
Wednesday December 21 – RS
Hanukkah & Winter Break December 23 – January 4

Winter/Spring Semester
Sunday January 8 – RS & K2
Wednesday January 11 – RS
Sunday January 15 – RS & K2
Wednesday January 18 – RS
Sunday January 22 – RS & K2
Wednesday January 25 – RS
Sunday January 29 – RS & K2
Wednesday February 1 – RS
Sunday February 5 – RS & K2
Wednesday February 8 – RS (Tu B’Shevat Seder Program open to K-2)
Sunday February 12 – RS & K2
Wednesday February 15 – RS
President’s Weekend – Enjoy!
Wednesday February 22 – RS
Sunday February 26 – RS & K2
Wednesday March 1 – RS
Sunday March 5 – RS & K2
Wednesday March 8 – RS
Purim March 11 – 12 – Purim Sameach!
Sunday March 12 – Special Purim Celebration!!!
Wednesday March 15 – RS
Sunday March 19 – RS & K2
Wednesday March 22 – RS
Sunday March 26 – RS & K2
Wednesday March 29 – RS
Sunday April 2 – RS & K2
Wednesday April 5 – RS
Sunday April 9 – RS & K2 (Passover Program & Model Seder)
Passover Break April 10 – 18 – Zissen Peseach!
Wednesday April 19 – RS
Sunday April 23 – RS & K2
Wednesday April 26 – RS
Sunday April 30 – RS & K2
Wednesday May 3 – RS
Sunday May 7 – RS & K2
Wednesday May 10 – RS
Sunday May 14 – RS & K2 (Lag B’Omer Celebration and Last Day of School)

Confirmation Program 2016 – 2017

THIS IS NOT RELIGIOUS SCHOOL! Open only to 8th – 12th Graders. Come and enjoy snacks, dinner, some Jewish learning, discussions, field trips, and creative projects with your friends and Rabbi Singer. This year we will explore the theme of: Food Glorious Food

Study Program: This year we will be cooking and eating together while learning about how food is at the heart of Jewish living, values, and culture. Learn about how our people adapted and added the culinary diversity of the world to our palate while contributing our own food, values, and particular ethics. By the end each student will have their very own recipe book!

Where: CBS social hall & kitchens.

When : 2x a month on Thursday afternoons from 5:30pm – 6:30pm

Cost: $100 per student.

September 8, 22
October 13, 27
November 10
December 8, 22
January 5, 19
February 9, 23
March 9, 23
April 6, 27
May 4, 18

_________________________________________________________________________